Tackle help please

Pleas feel free to talk anything sea Angling related in this forum

Moderator: Admin

silkweed

Tackle help please

Post by silkweed » Thu Mar 21, 2019 3:32 pm

Guys, I have decades of freshwater angling experience but not a lot when it comes to sea fishing. Years of match fishing (pre Carp yuck), specimen hunting for Chub and Barbel then onto split cane stuff. I have been out on the odd boat trip but never done any beach casting.
Im after a lot of advice about beach fishing, both tackle and skills.
Im going back to Spain in September and would love to do some beach fishing. I would love to have some sort of guidance for beach casting rods and would rather use a muliplier (although I get the feeling they are old fashioned?).
What length rod, which multiplier, terminal tackle etc please? I know it's a can of worms but I have no experience since my fibreglass boat rod days!

Oh and I will be fishing in the Nerja, Torrox region of southern Spain. I know there are a couple of tackle shops down there but the rods looked very basic and expensive so thinking of taking one out there in a tube to leave at my friends villa.

1. Rods, (not travel ones, normal two or three piece - which makes etc
2. multipliers, again which ones
3. line, braid or mono, which breaking strains
4. leads, hooks etc

Please.....

Thanks

Paul

eccles
Advanced User
Advanced User

Re: Tackle help please

Post by eccles » Fri Apr 19, 2019 11:22 am